twenty nine

November 21, 2009 § 2 Comments

Twenty Nine Years

Happy Birthday Lars!

I have to say I am proud of my cake masterpiece. It’s an “inside out german chocolate cake” recipe that I found online. It’s dense and chocolaty, and has a pretty smooth glaze. Six of us were able to eat about half of the cake.

The candles are made from a cake of beeswax that I had. The idea came from a Martha Stewart craft, although I didn’t have sheets of wax (they are hard to find and expensive) so I melted my wax into a small foil lined pan to make a thin sheet of wax. I then used little cookie cutters to cut out the letters and sandwiched the layer together (two of each letter) with a small wick and toothpick. They burn fast so are really only good for one time, but definitely worth the effort for the cuteness.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to twenty nine

  • Ryan says:

    That is an impressive cake. I haven’t managed to make a cake in a few years. But handmade candles make me feel like I’m failing at the art of entertaining.

    They are worth the effort. Why don’t I think of these things?

  • Megan says:

    Katie, why am I not surprised that you made your own gosh darn candles…… I must have this recipe for inside out german chocolate cake for jer, he LOVES German chocolate! Although, I don’t think I will attempt the candles, I leave those types of activities to you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading twenty nine at Tangled Fleece.

meta

