lion friends

January 27, 2009 § 1 Comment

sheep and friends

(I thought this was published two days ago- I guess not)

photo: even though we have been getting some sun, I hardly manage to take pictures during those brief moments. An unfinished sheep toy looking at the newest Lionbrand catalog. Hopefully the finished sheep will make an appearance here soon.

I get excited about getting mail, especially things to look at like magazines and catalogs. We get a healthy intake of magazines each month but not so many catalogs. I think that’s probably good since I don’t actually order much from catalogs so they would end of being wasted paper- and then I can get super excited for the few catalogs I do get. One catalog that I don’t get very often and I’m not sure how I got on the mailing list (besides the fact that one thing I do order is Knitpicks yarn every so often) is the Lionbrand yarn catalog. Truthfully, I’m not a big fan of their yarn. Even Vanna doesn’t sway me to the acrylic side.

Surprisingly they put out a nice catalog. One can also find a ton of their patterns online for free, and more for purchase. That patterns are fairly good- some are a bit old fashioned, and I mean out dated styles not classic. The photos of the patterns online are older photos that don’t really present the patterns very well. Outdated acrylic yarn can make even a good pattern look bad. But in the catalog they usually have pretty good color sense and design layout.

And, they have some new ‘fancy’ yarn to satisfy the natural yarn crowd. Since I’m not so good with numbers I haven’t done the math to see how the price compares with other similar yarn of the same yardage, but it’s not too expensive looking and has good colors. There is even a stainless steel wool yarn. Yeah, I know. It’s kind of strange, 75% wool 25% stainless steel. I always hate it when my wool gets rusty.

They also have a big cone of 100% wool that is for crocheting/ knitting very fine things like doilies (26 sts on #3 needles= 4″) in really pretty colors. I like the cones of yarn. Maybe it’s for weaving.

Oh, I forgot the best part. The cover of the winter 2009 catalog is so damn cute. Look at the frog posing in the front. All free patterns for the animal toys. The other thing I like about the catalog are the photos of yarn. They make good images to cut up and use in collage.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to lion friends

  • Mom says:

    The frog is what caught my eye first too. He’s really personable. The giraffe in the back is pretty cute too. Lots of potential there. Maybe I should learn to knit again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading lion friends at Tangled Fleece.

meta

