Thank goodness for snow days

December 26, 2008 § 3 Comments

Pdx snowcross country skiing

(left) Our street on the second day of snow in Portland. It was mostly ice by then on the street, and was latter covered with more and more snow after we left town. (right) Me attempting to cross country ski in the park in Spokane last Saturday. The best part was making tracks in deep fresh snow.

Lucky for me, snow blanketed everywhere (I mean everywhere I have been in the last couple of weeks) and I managed to actually finish some of my Christmas gifts, on time. I even wrapped and mailed a few before Christmas day. My biggest accomplishment:  making cards and sending them off. I didn’t get around to cards last year, or the year before. I took one whole day (paid days off are sweet) to make cards and I remembered how much l like making things to give. Usually I start things and then run out of time, and then I get really anxious about not having the gift done.

A good example of this is the unfinished scarf that I found in the closet at my parents house when I got here this week. Sorry Ryan, I think I ‘gave’ you that scarf for Christmas, ummmmmmm…about 7 years ago and never finished it. It’s blue and white ugly acrylic yarn with a fair isle like motif on the boarder, it’s kind of ugly. I’ll make you a better scarf to take it’s place- I acctualy have a pattern in mind that I have been wanting to do so maybe I’ll even finish it and give it to you.

These are the fabric cards that I made. The “peace” label can be unbuttoned and the card can be reused for other holidays or occasions. The inside paper can also be untied and replaced for the new recipient.

Christmas Cards
inside of card
back of card

Other handmade gifts we gave this year:

Homemade Pumpkin maple butter from the copious amounts of pumpkin in our freezer. We didn’t get around to carving our pumpkins at Halloween this year so I baked, pureed, and froze 2 pumpkins. I calculated that I could have made about 14 pumpkin pies, or a few pumpkins pies plus lots of other pumpkin goodies.

Pumpkin Maple Butter

Plein Air fingerless gloves for my favorite father in-law. He’s a painter so these might come in handy for plein air (painting outside) or the cold months in the midwest when it’s chilly even inside most places.

Yarn: Knit Picks, Swish DK (superwash wool), color: moss

pattern: original/ simple ribbed mitt with thumb gusset

Plein Air fingerless mittsmodeled by Lars

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Thank goodness for snow days

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank goodness for snow days at Tangled Fleece.

meta

