hand winding yarn

October 26, 2008 § Leave a comment

Ooooooo, pretty yarnwinding yarn into ballhand wound ball

This is the other skein of Blue Moon Fiber Arts-Socks that Rock yarn that I got at the Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival this year. It is so pretty that I had to take a picture of it in it’s natural hand dyed wonder before I mess with it. Then a spent some quiet time winding it into a ball. Sometimes tedious to wind by hand but also medetative (like knitting but even simpler), and dedicated solely to thinking about how beautiful and soft merino is. I wound this ball so that it is a center-pull, and it looks so romantic to have hand wound balls of yarn around.

I started the project with this yarn today but it’s top secret since it is on the Fall birthdays/Holiday 2008 handmade gift list. I had a wip’s (works in progress) page a while back when I started blogging, but I deleted it when I got tired of seeing some of the projects that just wouldn’t go away. Persistent buggers, never knit themselves. I’m thinking about bringing the wip’s page back. I have finished some of them (I think) and started a slew of new things- it could be fun to post all of the wip’s in one place.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hand winding yarn at Tangled Fleece.

meta

