wonky striping

October 15, 2008 § 1 Comment

socks

So the question is, why do they stripe differently? Is it where on the yarn I started each sock? Or, is it because it is mill end discount yarn and there are some inconsistencies in the hand dye? I’m secretly hoping it is a defect because that would mean I can’t do anything about it to fix it and wouldn’t be compeled to take out the second sock and start over.  The yarn is a beautiful variety of Socks that Rock- Blue Moon Fiber Arts, superwash merino/ lightweight.

We are taking off today for a little vacation (yea!) at a cabin in the forest. I’m brigning a basket of yarn and a few books. There is hiking and mushrooming around but it may start raining so I plan to be prepared.

Before I go I have a movie recommendation, The Fall. You should rent it, it’s beautiful.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to wonky striping

  • Ryan says:

    It must be an inconsistency in the dye because stripe is twice as thick on one sock so the length of yarn… oh I don’t know.

    I was in Macys last night and noticed a ton of knit dresses, some knit on super big needles (obviously all machine made but you know what I mean). I wonder if I should try one just making a sweater super long. The problem is I’d probably be bored with it by the time I was done and not want to wear it. I started a new scarf this week (I haven’t made one in 9+ years) with a leaf pattern so it’s taking a while especially since I’m using #2 needles. I had started a sweater with the yarn but got twisted on the circular needles so it turned into a mobius strip. Damn those nylon circular needles-so twisty!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading wonky striping at Tangled Fleece.

meta

