worms on a plane

July 18, 2008 § 2 Comments

radishGarden fresh radishes from my containers. The ‘patio’ tomatoes are also flourishing.

Not as dangerous as snakes, but worms aren’t typical carry on baggage. The screener did a double take when they scanned my bag at the airport, but I didn’t have any problems with bringing my knitting needles on the plane and they didn’t comment on the bag of dirt and worms either.

I harvested worms from a compost pile (at 11pm in the dark with a windup flashlight) and brought them back to join my small worm community. I think that the 100 degree temps that we had earlier in the month killed off some of my original worms so the new addition was welcome. The new worms post-flight weren’t wiggling very fast when I sprinkled them on top of the bin contents but they seem to have adjusted since.

After the hot weather (which was two days after getting my worms) my bin was smelling like rotting garbage- and a bit like a local beer that tastes good but smells like a bad worm bin. The plagued of flies was also bothersome outside the front door. I read-up more about vermiculture in the classic book “Worms eat my Garbage” by Mary Appelhof and made some changes- drilled more holes in the bin to aerate, added more bedding over any exposed food, and but the worms on a diet.

Mostly I think there was too much food for the number of worms. Allelhof suggests weighing your food waste (and worms) to keep the balance of food to worms 1:2. I don’t have a scale yet but I think that I have a better start on the bin to reintroduce new food.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to worms on a plane

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading worms on a plane at Tangled Fleece.

meta

