contraband

July 9, 2008 § Leave a comment

Harmony needlesKnitpicks Harmony circular needles

I got the knitpicks interchangeable needles a year ago and really like that I haven’t had to buy needles in a long time. Of course I could always use a few more pairs in some of the smaller sizes, but over all I have been very pleased with them. The one thing that I hesitated about before buying them was that I really don’t like to knit with metal needles, I always prefer wood/ bamboo. Then Knitpicks came out with the Harmony interchangeable needles. I thought that was a dream come true- I could merge them with my current set and have an happy blended needle family.

Unfortunately, I think that the Harmony wood is, well… I think it is kind of ugly. Sorry Knitpicks. I know they are very proud of the beauty of the wood, but I really like the simplicity of bamboo and the natural look against my yarns. I am someone that buys wine by the label and am sometimes swayed by the look of certain products at the store. Who wants an ugly lotion bottle sitting on the counter? Not me. thankfully I don’t buy a lot of beauty products so I don’t struggle with that often.

My dilemma continued every time I lusted after having wooden needles in almost every size at my fingertips. Then I would looked at the Knitpicks catalog and feel disappointment about the harmony wood colors. Eventually I ordering a pair of the Harmony circular needles (a size that the interchangeable set doesn’t have) to try them out. Really I was thinking about how I could maybe stain the wood and make them less colorful. This would probably change the size of the needles or totally wreck them. I don’t know. Anyone ever tried that before? Well, it turns out that as soon as I took out the needles I really really like them. They have the wonderful smooth wood feel that I love. I think I might be able to handle the colorfulness for the Knitpicks price and quality.

I’m flying tomorrow for the first time in a while and was worried about bringing knitting needles on the plane, or not being allowed to and having to toss them at security. Gadling has some good advise (and other props) for traveling knitters- bring a self addressed envelope.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading contraband at Tangled Fleece.

meta

