glass cutting

June 3, 2008 § 1 Comment

jugs

Dusty glass juice jugs resurrected from a friends basement. The plan is to use a glass cutter to cut off the top part of the jug to make my own cloches. Although I have watched people use a glass cutter I have never used one myself, so I’m a little hesitant to do this, besides the fact that these are round objects. So first I am supposed to “cut” the glass with a knife that wouldn’t even cut paper and then “tap” it with the other end of the tool. I picture myself smashing the jugs into dangerously sharp pieces of glass that explode into my face. If I do manage to cut the glass, it won’t need to be pretty or perfect because the cut end will be in the dirt. But I think it should be fairly close so that I don’t loose to much height on the cloche. I found some fancy looking gadgets that cut gallon glass jugs- the tool I have in mind is a bit simpler. I have read some other advice online so I hope to avoid the exploding glass scenario. I will report back after I get the first aid kit together, and read some more about cutting glass…

§ One Response to glass cutting

  • Mom says:

    As always, if you wait a little while, I’ll find you a bottle cutter that will do the job safely. Doesn’t that sound just like a mother? I see bottle cutters frequently so it won’t take very long. Besides, I’ve thought it would be a great idea for a long time but haven’t had a source of gallon jugs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading glass cutting at Tangled Fleece.

meta

