Patio Project

May 23, 2008 § 1 Comment

I have been dreaming of a small patio garden and finally got around to doing something about it. Because of the layout of our front and back patios (really the back one is more of a balcony and the front it a porch?) and the location of the buildings around us, the best sun is up around the patio railings. Pots on the floor don’t really get any sun, and typically there are bike parts laying around too. So my mission was to build boxes that are big enough for growing veggies and herbs and that can hang from the railings.

Step 1: A visit to The ReBuilding Center. While in the neighborhood we also stopped at the wonderful Pistils Nursery and saw baby chicks. I wish my patio garden could have the feel of Pistils.

Step 2: I picked out cabinet fronts since there were multiple pieces of the same or similar dimensions (meaning less cutting to make a box). You can see the railings that the two boxes will hang on in this photo.

IMG_7270

Step 3: After removing the hinges, I sawed a few pieces for the ends of the boxes. The gnome took a break from guarding the front door and cushioned my knees.

IMG_7274

Step 4: Screwing the boards together to make boxes was less glamorous so I forgot to take pictures. Basically I made the boxes and then drilled holes in the bottom for drainage. Getting hooks to hang the boxes called for a trip to the local hardware store where I was greeted by no less than 3 friendly employees ready to help me. We figured out in less than a minute that they didn’t sell what I was looking for but they happily made a custom hook for me out of this L shaped….ummmm, thing. Anyway, it is perfect as you can see. I love local shops.

custom hookhanging

Ta-da! Presenting the final product complete with plants. Not exactly beauty but certainly function. Soon the plants will flourish and their beauty will distract from the odd looking boxes.

garden boxes

§ One Response to Patio Project

  • Ryan says:

    I’m sure some shabby chic place would sell your plant boxes (I especially like the white one with the recessed panel). From the picture they look really deep, aren’t they heavy with the dirt/water? Nonetheless, I like the ingenuity and hope you get the herbs to thrive on the outside of the railing. If you have room for one more I would suggest a whole box of cilantro from seed. Sunset.com has instructions from their test garden on growing a pot o’ cilantro (I’ve had good luck with it).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Patio Project at Tangled Fleece.

meta

