Don’t try this at home folks

December 22, 2007 § 2 Comments

Just last month I made Martha Stewart’s hand-warmers using ceramic pie weights sewn between soft felt. The first pair I made I tested in the microwave and got the time wrong. I knew right away that something wasn’t right when the plate they were sitting on in the microwave blew up and the smell of burnt wool wafted out. After cursing and looking back at Martha’s directions I realized that I had cooked them way to long. So I made a fresh pair and gave them to my mom for her birthday. I thought that this was a great gift idea and I was also intensely attracted to the materials. The pie weights just look so nice.

 

 

So then I wanted to make more hand-warmers as Christmas gifts. To my surprise I couldn’t find Martha Stewart’s directions on her website when I looked so I Googled to see if I could find it somewhere else. This is what I found. Reading Sassy’s blog made me feel better about my microwave explosion, at least I’m not to only one that this didn’t work for. But I am disappointed that I don’t have a creative use for the pie weights.

 

 

To relieve my guilt I made up some simple hand-warmers filled with buckwheat hulls to replace the flammable variety. Sorry mom.

§ 2 Responses to Don’t try this at home folks

  • Miss Sassy says:

    Oh no. I’m sorry to hear that you had this problem, too. I don’t know what to do with the pie weights either. Such a waste of money. How did the buckwheat hulls do? I’ve used them in sleep pillows but have never warmed them in the microwave. Do you think it was the pie weights themselves that caught on fire or fabric/thread?

  • tangledfleece says:

    My guess is that the fabric burned where the pie weights concentrated the most heat because my pie weights came out looking okay but the fabric was toast. The buckwheat works great!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Don’t try this at home folks at Tangled Fleece.

meta

