Meet the “Miracle Brain”

October 28, 2007 § 1 Comment

quilt detail

Elna and I became friends three years ago when she was lovingly handed down to me from a family friend. We pieced the quilt above together for Lars as a wedding present. From what I have gathered, Elna was born some time between 1958 – 1963 and is very similar to her more well known sibling referred to as the Elna Supermatic Grasshopper.

My Elna is beige/ brown and looks just like the second machine shown here except for the color. I have almost all of the interchangeable discs that fit into the “miracle brain” for making decorative stitches. Barbie elegantly shows the stitches in the image below (found here).

I have the basic instructions to the machine, but when I say basic I mean just the basics. During my Internet research I learned that the machine can be inserted into the opened carrying case as an extended work platform. That’s more exciting that I had expected to feel about an old metal box that weighs more than a puppy.

So far, Elna has been strong, smart (in looks and intelligence), and reliable- just like many women that I know. However, Elna is not very verbal and has not been able to answer some of my questions like, “Elna, what are all of your feet for?” She has many intriguing feet and I have yet to discover the uses. I will be sharing some of my favorite feet in the following post(s).

§ One Response to Meet the “Miracle Brain”

  • […] 5th and Lars had to remind me that it was the 4th, the only way I could remember was if I looked at the quilt. So this year I actually remembered, but it was a busy day and we didn’t see much of each […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meet the “Miracle Brain” at Tangled Fleece.

meta

